Compare · Umax
BecomeTen vs Umax: an honest Umax alternative in the browser
Umax is an iOS and Android app whose analysis results sit behind a subscription, with weekly plans listed on the App Store. BecomeTen runs in the browser, shows the score and tier free, charges €6.99 once for the full report, caps non-surgical potential per area and cites only PubMed-verified studies.

| BecomeTen | Umax | |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | Web app in any modern browser, phone or desktop. No App Store or Google Play app yet; stores planned. | iOS (App Store) and Android (Google Play). |
| Price model | One-time: full report €6.99, re-scan €4.99. Or BecomeTen PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year. | Subscription, from $3.99/week on the US App Store; several weekly and monthly tiers plus one-off add-ons are listed. The terms describe a 3-day free trial that then charges the chosen plan. The listing states that analysis results require a subscription and additional scans require additional purchase. |
| What you get free | Score out of 100, tier and a share card, one free scan per device per day, no sign-up. | Download and the scan itself. Results are behind the subscription per the listing. |
| Score scale | 0–100 on a fixed rubric, eight named tiers, PSL equivalent shown. | Not stated on their site. |
| Shows citations | Yes. Every plan step carries an evidence level and may only cite the curated PubMed-verified library, linked from the report. | Not stated on their site. |
| Potential / what can change | Potential is capped per area without surgery: harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20. Each weak point is tagged workable or structural. | Not stated on their site. The listing describes advice to become more attractive and notes that recommendations are suggestions, not medical advice. |
| Photo retention | Free scan: photo deleted right after scoring. Paid scan: stored encrypted in the EU until you delete it. Never used to train AI. | Privacy policy states face scans are kept for up to one year unless the law requires otherwise. |
| Age policy | 18+. | 18+ on the App Store; the privacy policy also states users must be at least 18. |
| Progress tracking | PRO: 20 scans per rolling 30 days, each compared against the last under matched photo conditions. Unchanged and regressed are valid results. | Not stated on their site beyond additional scans being a separate purchase. |
Who is Umax for?
Umax is a phone app. You download it, take a selfie and receive an analysis with advice aimed at becoming more attractive. Its App Store listing is direct about the model: analysis results require a subscription, and additional scans require an additional purchase. The listed in-app purchases start from $3.99 a week on the US App Store, with several weekly and monthly tiers plus one-off add-ons, and the listing is rated 18+.
That makes Umax a fit for someone who wants a native app on their phone, is comfortable with a recurring charge, and wants a quick verdict with advice. The listing also states that the app does not offer medical advice and that recommendations should be treated as suggestions. Nothing on their public pages states what the score scale is, whether the advice cites research, or how potential is defined, so we do not claim to know.
Who is BecomeTen for?
BecomeTen is a web app. Nothing to install; it runs in the browser on a phone or a desktop. You upload one photo and get a score out of 100, one of eight tiers and a share card free, without signing up. The full report is a single payment of €6.99: 30+ traits across harmony, eye area, jaw and chin, skin and hair, each with a band, a non-surgical potential ceiling, and a plan whose every step carries an evidence level.
It is for someone who wants to see the number before paying, wants the working shown, and does not want a weekly charge. It is 18+, English only, and there is no mobile app yet; App Store and Google Play releases are planned. The calibration is strict on purpose: an average, healthy, groomed person lands around 50–60, and above 80 is reserved for genuinely striking structure. How that is calibrated is on the methodology page.
Why do scores differ between apps?
A score is a rubric plus a calibration, and every app has its own. BecomeTen weights harmony, eye area, jaw and chin, skin and hair, and is calibrated so that an average, healthy, groomed person lands around 50–60. Umax's scale and calibration are not stated on their site. Two apps can look at the same photo and place the same person at different points on different ladders without either being wrong about the photo; they are answering different questions.
The photo moves the number too. A chin tilted down sharpens the jaw on camera, a lens held close swells the midface, and hard overhead light darkens the eye area. BecomeTen grades every photo for light, angle and sharpness and shows a difference within two points as noise. The community's own 1–8 ladder is a third scale again; how a 0–100 score maps onto it is on the PSL scale page.
Rate my face
Score, tier and share card free. Pay only if you want the full report.
Weekly subscription or one payment?
This is the biggest practical difference. Umax lists weekly premium tiers from $3.99 on the US App Store, its terms describe a 3-day free trial that then charges the chosen plan, and its results are behind that subscription. BecomeTen charges once for the report; the number itself is free. If you want to re-scan later, that is €4.99, or PRO at €9.99 a month or €59.99 a year for 20 scans per rolling 30 days with a maximum of three a day, each with a potential photo and progress tracking.
- You want one honest number and a plan: BecomeTen one-time report, €6.99.
- You want to track a routine over months: BecomeTen PRO, monthly or yearly, cancel any time.
- You want a native app today and a recurring plan: Umax, on the terms its listing states.
A subscription is not wrong in itself. The question is what you get before paying. On BecomeTen you see your score and tier, then decide. On Umax the listing says results require a subscription.
Is the evidence shown?
Face-rating apps give advice. The difference is whether the advice can be checked. On BecomeTen every plan step is labelled strong, moderate, weak or no studies, and the AI may only cite from a curated library that is checked server-side, so an invented reference cannot reach you. Mewing, brow shaping and most grooming advice are labelled as having no studies, and we say so rather than dress them up.
What does potential mean in each app?
On BecomeTen, potential is what is reachable without surgery, and the server caps it per area: harmony +6 points, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20. The model cannot exceed the cap even if it wants to. Every weak point is tagged workable or structural, and for structural ones the plan may only work with how the trait reads, through body composition, posture, hair framing and grooming. The potential photo is an illustration of 6–12 months of consistent work, not a prediction.
Umax's listing describes helping you become more attractive and offers a one-off add-on named for a top score. How its potential is defined and whether it is capped is not stated on their site. That is not an accusation; it is the fact we could verify.
What happens to the photo?
Umax's privacy policy states that face scans are kept for a maximum of one year unless the law requires otherwise, and that the company does not knowingly collect data from anyone under 18. Its App Store label lists photos and user content as data not linked to you.
On a BecomeTen free scan the photo is processed for the rating and deleted straight after; only the text analysis is kept. A paid scan is stored encrypted in the EU until you delete it or your account. No model is trained on your photos and they are not sold. The seller is Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia, with public terms, a refund policy and a privacy policy.
What BecomeTen deliberately does not do
- No comparison to other users and no leaderboard. The score describes the photo against a fixed rubric.
- No score adjustment for ethnicity or gender identity.
- No degrees, millimetres or percentages for structural traits. Every trait gets a directional band because a selfie cannot support more.
- No demeaning ladder. The eight tiers have neutral names; the forum labels are not used.
- No invented progress. On a re-scan the model sees both photos and may report unchanged or regressed.
How to choose between Umax and BecomeTen
Pick Umax if a native phone app matters more than anything else and a recurring plan is fine. Pick BecomeTen if you want the number before paying, a one-time price, evidence levels on every step, a capped potential and a photo policy you can read in plain words. If you are under 18, neither is for you; both listings say so. If you want the wider context, the looksmaxxing apps compared hub covers the category, and Umax vs LooksMax AI puts the two phone apps side by side.
Questions
Is Umax worth it?
That depends on what you want from it, and we do not rate other apps. Check three things on its listing before subscribing: what you see before paying, whether the advice cites anything you can verify, and how long your photo is kept. Umax's own pages answer the first and the third; the second is not stated on their site.
Can I use BecomeTen on my phone?
Yes, in the browser. Open the site on your phone, upload a photo and the score appears in about a minute. There is no App Store or Google Play app yet; both are planned. The report is tied to your email, so a paid scan is available on any device you sign in from, not only the phone you scanned on.
Will my BecomeTen score match my Umax score?
No, and it should not. Each app scores against its own rubric, and BecomeTen is calibrated so that an average, healthy, groomed person lands around 50–60. A number from one rater cannot be compared with a number from another. If you want a trend, use one rater, one camera setup and matched conditions over time.
Does BecomeTen offer a weekly plan like Umax?
No. BecomeTen has a one-time report at €6.99, a re-scan at €4.99, and PRO at €9.99 a month or €59.99 a year with 20 scans per rolling 30 days. There is no weekly tier, and the score and tier are free before any of that. Cancel PRO any time through the billing portal.
Sources
- 1.Sunscreen and prevention of skin aging: a randomized trial — Annals of Internal Medicine (2013)(Opens in a new window)
- 2.A randomized clinical trial of 5% topical minoxidil versus 2% topical minoxidil and placebo in the treatment of androgenetic alopecia in men — Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (2002)(Opens in a new window)