Compare · Umax vs LooksMax AI
Umax vs LooksMax AI, with BecomeTen as the third column
Umax and LooksMax AI are both phone apps with weekly purchases listed on the App Store. Umax is rated 18+ and keeps face scans up to a year; LooksMax AI is rated 13+ and deletes face data after 30 days. BecomeTen differs on three points: browser only, one-time €6.99 or PRO, and evidence shown with capped potential.

| BecomeTen | Umax | LooksMax AI | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Platform | Web app, any modern browser. No store app yet; stores planned. | iOS and Android. | iOS and Android. |
| Price model | One-time report €6.99, re-scan €4.99, or PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year. | Subscription, from $3.99/week on the US App Store, with several weekly and monthly tiers plus one-off add-ons; the terms describe a 3-day free trial. Results require a subscription per the listing. | Free download with in-app purchases. App Store lists a weekly purchase at $3.99, a Pro purchase at $3.99 and consumable packs from $0.99. |
| What you get free | Score, tier and share card; one scan per device per day; no sign-up. | Download and the scan. Results are behind the subscription per the listing. | Download and upload. What is shown before purchase is not stated on their site. |
| Score scale | 0–100, eight tiers, PSL equivalent shown. | Not stated on their site. | Not stated on their site. |
| Shows citations | Yes; evidence level on every step, curated PubMed-verified library only. | Not stated on their site. | Not stated on their site. |
| Potential / what can change | Capped per area: harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20. Weak points tagged workable or structural. | Not stated on their site. | Not stated on their site. |
| Photo retention | Free scan deleted right after scoring. Paid scan encrypted in the EU until you delete it. Never used to train AI. | Face scans kept for up to one year per the privacy policy. | Face data deleted after 30 days per the privacy policy. |
| Age policy | 18+. | 18+ on the App Store and in the privacy policy. | 13+ on the App Store; no age stated in the policy. |
| Progress tracking | PRO: 20 scans per rolling 30 days under matched conditions; unchanged and regressed are valid results. | Not stated beyond additional scans being a separate purchase. | Not stated on their site. |
What Umax and LooksMax AI have in common
Both are native phone apps on iOS and Android. Both ask for a selfie, analyse it and return a verdict with advice. Both list a weekly purchase on the App Store. Neither states its score scale, whether its advice cites research, or how potential is defined on its public pages, so those cells read the same for both. If you are choosing between them, the decisions come down to age policy, what happens to your photo, and how the money is structured.
Where Umax and LooksMax AI differ
Age first. Umax is rated 18+ on the App Store and its privacy policy states that users must be at least 18. LooksMax AI is rated 13+ on the App Store, and neither its privacy policy nor its terms state a minimum age. Photo retention second. Umax's policy says face scans are kept for up to one year unless the law requires otherwise; LooksMax AI's says face data is retained for 30 days and then automatically deleted.
Money third. Umax's listing states that analysis results require a subscription and that additional scans are an additional purchase; the listed tiers start from $3.99 a week on the US App Store, with monthly options and one-off add-ons, and its terms describe a 3-day free trial. LooksMax AI's listing shows a weekly purchase and a Pro purchase at the same listed price, plus consumable boosts and content packs from $0.99. One is built around a recurring plan; the other spreads spending across small items as well.
- Under 18: Umax says no; LooksMax AI's listing is 13+.
- Shortest stated retention: LooksMax AI, 30 days.
- Clearest statement that results are paid: Umax, in its own description.
Why do scores differ between apps?
Neither Umax nor LooksMax AI states its score scale on its own pages, so the honest answer is that we do not know what either number means, and we do not repeat third-party descriptions of their scales. What we can say is general: a score is a rubric and a calibration, each app has its own, and a number from one is not comparable with a number from another. BecomeTen's rubric and calibration are published, with an average, healthy, groomed person around 50–60 and a fixed mapping to the community's 1–8 ladder explained on the PSL score page.
The photo is the other variable. Lighting, angle, lens distance and expression shift what any rater sees, which is why a score can jump between two selfies taken a minute apart. If you test more than one app, at least feed them the same photo, and expect the results to differ anyway.
Rate my face
Browser only, no install. Score and tier free before anything is charged.
Where BecomeTen sits
BecomeTen is not a phone app. It runs in the browser, and there is no App Store or Google Play version yet, though both are planned. The score, tier and share card are free without an account, one scan per device per day. The full report is €6.99 once; a re-scan is €4.99; PRO is €9.99 a month or €59.99 a year for 20 scans per rolling 30 days, at most three a day, with a potential photo on each scan and progress tracking.
Three things are different in kind rather than in price. Every plan step carries an evidence level and can only cite from a curated PubMed-verified library. Potential is capped per area without surgery, and every weak point is tagged workable or structural. And the product is 18+ with a photo policy in plain words: a free scan's photo is deleted right after scoring, a paid scan is stored encrypted in the EU until you delete it, and nothing is used to train a model. The full rules are on the methodology page.
What can each app claim about potential?
This is the question that separates a rating from a sales pitch. BecomeTen's ceiling is enforced in code: harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20. Bone geometry does not change, so harmony gets the least; skin and hair move the most, so they get the most. Umax and LooksMax AI do not state how their potential is defined or whether it is limited, so we do not describe it either way.
What to watch for in any of the three
Photo variables move every rater more than most routines do. A chin tilted down sharpens the jaw on camera; a lens held close distorts the midface. Whatever app you use, take the photo in even light at eye level with a neutral expression, and hold those conditions constant if you want a trend to mean anything.
How to choose between Umax, LooksMax AI and BecomeTen
| If you want | Consider |
|---|---|
| A native phone app and a recurring plan, adults only | Umax |
| A native phone app, small purchases, 30-day retention | LooksMax AI |
| The score before paying, one payment, evidence shown | BecomeTen |
| A capped potential and workable vs structural tags | BecomeTen |
| Progress tracking with re-scans that may say unchanged | BecomeTen PRO |
The two single-app pages go deeper: BecomeTen vs Umax and BecomeTen vs LooksMax AI. The category overview is the looksmaxxing apps hub, and what a face score can and cannot measure is on AI face rating.
Questions
Are Umax and LooksMax AI the same app?
No. Umax is published by Improvement Tech LLC and LooksMax AI by Mnkybrain Labs, with separate listings on both stores. Several other apps on the stores use similar names, so check the developer name before you install or pay. BecomeTen is a third, unrelated product from Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia.
Which of the three is available on Android?
Umax and LooksMax AI both have Google Play listings. BecomeTen has no Android app; you use it in the phone's browser, which works on Android and iOS alike. A Google Play release is planned but not available as of the date on this page, so do not look for BecomeTen in the store yet.
Do any of the three publish a refund policy?
BecomeTen publishes its refund policy on the site, alongside the terms and privacy policy, and the seller has a public address. For Umax and LooksMax AI, store purchases are handled through Apple or Google under their rules; a policy of their own is not stated on their sites as of the verification date.
Does a higher listed price mean a stricter score?
No. Price and calibration are unrelated. BecomeTen is calibrated so that an average, healthy, groomed person lands around 50–60, which is a design choice, not a function of the €6.99. The other two apps do not state their scales, so no statement about their strictness can be made from their prices or from anything else on their pages.
Sources
- 1.Sunscreen and prevention of skin aging: a randomized trial — Annals of Internal Medicine (2013)(Opens in a new window)
- 2.A randomized clinical trial of 5% topical minoxidil versus 2% topical minoxidil and placebo in the treatment of androgenetic alopecia in men — Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (2002)(Opens in a new window)
- 3.Human (Homo sapiens) facial attractiveness and sexual selection: the role of symmetry and averageness — Journal of Comparative Psychology (1994)(Opens in a new window)