Compare
Looksmaxxing apps compared
Every face-rating app gives you a number; they differ in how the number is produced, what it costs to see the rest, whether the advice cites anything, and what happens to the photo. This hub compares the apps on those criteria, with the facts checked against each app's own public pages and dated.

How we compared the apps
We did not install every app and score our own faces; a number from one rater cannot be compared with a number from another. We compared what each app states about itself. On 2026-09-06 we read each app's App Store and Google Play listing, its website where it has one, and its privacy policy, and recorded seven facts: platform, price model, what is free, score scale, whether citations are shown, photo retention, and age policy. Where a fact is not on those pages, the table says so rather than guessing.
- Prices are quoted only where a store listing shows them, in the listing's currency, and may differ by country or change without notice.
- No user counts, ratings, reviews or revenue figures appear here. They are not verifiable from the source and are not a measure of whether the rating is honest.
Why do scores differ between apps?
Because a score is a rubric plus a calibration, and every app has its own. One app may weight the jaw heavily, another the skin; one may put an average person at 50, another at 70. Neither Umax nor LooksMax AI states its scale on its own pages, so we do not describe them. BecomeTen publishes its rubric: five weighted areas, an average, healthy, groomed person around 50–60, above 80 reserved for striking structure, and a fixed mapping to the community's 1–8 ladder explained on the PSL score page.
The photo is the second reason. Lighting, angle, lens distance and expression change what any rater sees, so the same face can score differently between two selfies a minute apart. BecomeTen grades every photo for light, angle and sharpness before scoring it and shows a difference within two points as noise.
Umax
Umax is a native app on iOS and Android from Improvement Tech LLC, rated 18+ on the App Store. The listing is explicit that analysis results require a subscription and that additional scans require an additional purchase. Listed in-app purchases start from $3.99 a week on the US App Store, with several weekly and monthly tiers and one-off add-ons, and its terms describe a 3-day free trial that then charges the chosen plan. Its privacy policy states that face scans are kept for up to one year unless the law requires otherwise and that the app is not for anyone under 18. Score scale, citations and how potential is defined are not stated on their site. The single-app page is BecomeTen vs Umax.
LooksMax AI
LooksMax AI is a native app on iOS and Android from Mnkybrain Labs, rated 13+ on the App Store. It is free to download with in-app purchases; the App Store lists a weekly purchase at $3.99, a Pro purchase at $3.99, and consumable boost and content packs from $0.99. Its privacy policy states that face data is retained for 30 days and then automatically deleted, collected only to analyse attractiveness, and not shared or sold unless required by law. No minimum age appears in its policy or terms. Score scale, citations and potential caps are not stated on their site. The single-app page is BecomeTen vs LooksMax AI.
Browser-based symmetry calculators
Alongside the store apps there is a category of browser tools that measure symmetry or a golden-ratio score from an uploaded photo, often free and often without an account. Their limits are structural. A single 2D photo cannot support a millimetre or degree reading, so a decimal-place symmetry percentage is precision the input does not contain. Most give no advice, so there is nothing to cite; those that do rarely show a source. Retention policies vary widely and are often absent. We do not name individual tools here because they change too fast to verify on a dated page.
BecomeTen
BecomeTen is a web app from Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia, 18+, English only, with no store app yet; App Store and Google Play releases are planned. One photo returns a score out of 100, one of eight tiers and a share card free, one scan per device per day, no sign-up. The full report is €6.99 once: 30+ traits across harmony, eye area, jaw and chin, skin and hair, each as a band; a non-surgical potential capped per area at harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20; weak points tagged workable or structural; and a plan whose every step carries an evidence level and cites only a curated PubMed-verified library. A re-scan is €4.99. PRO is €9.99 a month or €59.99 a year for 20 scans per rolling 30 days, at most three a day, with a potential photo on each and progress tracking.
The photo from a free scan is deleted right after scoring. A paid scan is stored encrypted in the EU until you delete it or your account, and no photo is used to train a model. The full rules are on the methodology page and the test itself is described on AI face rating.
Rate my face
Score, tier and share card free. No install, no account.
The apps at a glance
| App | Price model | Platform | Evidence shown | Photo policy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BecomeTen | Free score; €6.99 one-time report; €4.99 re-scan; PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year | Browser (phone or desktop); no store app yet | Yes, evidence level per step, PubMed-verified library only | Free scan deleted after scoring; paid scan encrypted in the EU until deleted; never used for training |
| Umax | Subscription from $3.99/week on the US App Store; 3-day trial per terms; results require subscription | iOS and Android | Not stated on their site | Face scans kept up to one year per policy |
| LooksMax AI | Free with in-app purchases; weekly $3.99 and Pro $3.99 on the US App Store; packs from $0.99 | iOS and Android | Not stated on their site | Face data deleted after 30 days per policy |
| Browser symmetry calculators | Usually free | Browser | Rarely; most give no advice | Varies; often not stated |
Who should pick what
- You want a native phone app and are 18 or over: Umax, on the terms in its listing.
- You want a native phone app with small purchases and a short retention window: LooksMax AI.
- You want a free, instant symmetry read and no advice: a browser symmetry calculator, treating any decimal precision as decoration.
- You want the score before paying, one payment, evidence levels on every step, a capped potential and an EU photo policy in plain words: BecomeTen.
The comparison pages
- BecomeTen vs Umax: weekly subscription against a one-time report, and what each states about photos and age.
- BecomeTen vs LooksMax AI: in-app purchases against one payment, and the 30-day retention window.
- Umax vs LooksMax AI: the two phone apps side by side, with BecomeTen as the third column.
- AI face rating: what a face score can and cannot measure from one photo.
- Methodology: calibration, potential caps, evidence levels and what BecomeTen refuses to do.
Questions
Why are so many cells marked not stated on their site?
Because that is what we found. Most face-rating apps publish a price list and a privacy policy but do not state their score scale, whether advice cites research, or how far they claim you can improve. We record only what an app says about itself on a dated page. A blank is more useful to you than a guess, and it tells you what to ask before paying.
Is a free browser symmetry calculator good enough?
For a quick directional read, it can be. For anything more, no. A single photo cannot support decimal-place symmetry, most calculators give no plan, and the ones that do rarely cite a source. If you want a number that means something over time, you need consistent photo conditions and a rater that reports noise as noise, which is a different product.
Will BecomeTen be in the App Store and Google Play?
Both are planned, and neither is available as of the date on this page. Until then BecomeTen runs in the phone's browser on iOS and Android with the same free score, the same €6.99 report and the same PRO. If you see an app with a similar name in a store today, it is not ours; check the developer name.
How often is this comparison re-checked?
Each competitor row carries the date it was verified, and the pages are re-checked when a listing changes price, age rating, name or policy. Store listings change often, sometimes including the app's title, so treat the date as part of the fact. If a listing no longer matches, tell us and we will re-check it.