Compare · Free vs paid
Free vs paid face raters: what free gets you, what one payment adds, what a subscription costs
A free face rater gives you a number, usually without an account and usually without a stated calibration or any advice. A one-time report adds a breakdown and a plan for a fixed price. A subscription app charges weekly or monthly and, in the listings we checked, often puts the result behind the payment. Read the photo policy first.

| BecomeTen | Free browser raters | Subscription apps | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Examples read for this page | BecomeTen itself; browser, 18+, English only. | PrettyScale, the PFPMaker attractiveness test, Overchat's rate-my-face tool. | Umax and LooksMax AI (native apps); FaceRate.ai (browser, subscriptions per its terms). |
| What you see before paying | Score out of 100, tier and share card, one scan per device per day, no sign-up. | The score: PrettyScale shows the whole result; PFPMaker and Overchat state the score is free and no sign-up is needed. | Umax's listing says results require a subscription; LooksMax AI and FaceRate.ai do not state what appears before a purchase. |
| Price as listed | Report €6.99 once; re-scan €4.99; PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year, cancel any time. | Free. PFPMaker unlocks a detailed report with an email address; no price on the tool page. | Umax from $3.99/week on the US App Store; LooksMax AI weekly $3.99, Pro $3.99, packs from $0.99; FaceRate.ai prices not stated on their site. |
| Calibration stated | Yes: average, healthy, groomed adult around 50–60; above 80 for striking structure. | Scales stated (a percentage; 1–10); where an average face sits is stated only by PFPMaker, which describes 4–5 as average. | Not stated on their sites, apart from FaceRate.ai's out-of-10 scale with no anchor. |
| Advice and evidence | Plan with an evidence level on every step; cites only a PubMed-verified library; potential capped per area. | PrettyScale describes no advice. PFPMaker and Overchat each name face-perception papers on the tool page; per-step citations in any report not stated. | Advice is described in the listings; whether it cites research is not stated on their sites. |
| Photo retention | Free scan deleted after scoring; paid scan encrypted in the EU until you delete it; never used for training. | PrettyScale: not saved. PFPMaker: not stored for guests, kept for account holders until deletion. Overchat: deleted after processing per the tool page; the privacy policy does not mention images. | Umax: up to one year. LooksMax AI: 30 days. FaceRate.ai: not stated; policy mentions only email; terms grant a perpetual licence to uploads. |
| Age policy | 18+. | PrettyScale: not stated. PFPMaker: 16 on the tool page, 18 in the policy. Overchat: under 16 not knowingly collected, per policy. | Umax 18+. LooksMax AI 13+ on the App Store, none in policy. FaceRate.ai 18+ to register. |
How the three categories were drawn
Face raters sort into three shapes by how they take money. Free browser raters take none, or take an email address. One-time products charge once for a report and stop. Subscription apps charge weekly, monthly or yearly, and in two of the three listings we read the result itself sits behind the charge. BecomeTen is in the second group with an optional third: the score is free, the report is one payment, and PRO is a subscription only if you want repeated scans and progress tracking. This page is about what each shape gets you, not which product wins; the looksmaxxing apps compared hub does the per-app work.
What does a free face rater get you?
A number, quickly, without an account. PrettyScale returns a percentage from hand-placed points; PFPMaker and Overchat return a 1–10 from an uploaded photo. All three state the score is free and none requires sign-up for it. What a free rater usually does not give you is an anchor, a breakdown you can act on, or a plan. PrettyScale describes no advice at all. PFPMaker keeps its detailed report behind an email. Overchat offers a breakdown of features on the tool page.
The honest limit of a free number is that it rarely has a stated meaning. Of the three, only PFPMaker's page says where average sits on its scale. BecomeTen's free tier is the same shape, a score and a tier with no account, but with the anchor published: an average, healthy, groomed adult lands around 50–60, and above 80 is reserved for striking structure. That is the difference between a number and a position, and it costs nothing on either side. What the free rating can honestly measure is on AI face rating.
Rate my face
Free score and tier, no account. Pay only if you want the report.
What does a one-time payment add?
The working. On BecomeTen, €6.99 once buys 30+ traits across harmony, eye area, jaw and chin, skin and hair, each as a directional band; a non-surgical potential capped per area at harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20; each weak point tagged workable or structural; and a plan in which every step is labelled strong, moderate, weak or no studies and may only cite from a curated PubMed-verified library, checked server-side. A re-scan later is €4.99. There is no renewal to cancel because nothing renews.
The Face Report is the other one-time product we read, at $17.49 once with a 7-day refund per its pricing page, and it is worth naming so that the category is not just us. The shape is the same: free number first, one payment for the report, a stated refund policy. The trade-off of a one-time payment is obvious: you pay whether or not you act on it. The advantage is that the price is the price, and you decide after seeing your score.
What does a subscription cost over a year?
Take the only weekly price we can quote from a listing. Umax's US App Store listing shows premium tiers from $3.99 a week, and its terms describe a 3-day free trial that then charges the chosen plan. Left running for a year, the lowest listed weekly tier comes to $3.99 multiplied by 52 weeks, which is $207.48. That is arithmetic on a listed price, not a claim about what anyone pays; most people cancel, and tiers, currencies and prices vary by country and change without notice. But it is the honest way to read a weekly number.
| Product and listed price | Over 12 months | What the listing says you get |
|---|---|---|
| Umax, from $3.99/week (US App Store) | $207.48 if never cancelled | Results require a subscription; additional scans are a separate purchase |
| LooksMax AI, weekly $3.99 (US App Store) | $207.48 if never cancelled, before packs | What is shown before purchase not stated on their site |
| BecomeTen PRO, €9.99/month | €119.88, or €59.99 on the yearly plan | 20 scans per rolling 30 days, max three a day, progress tracking |
| BecomeTen report, €6.99 once | €6.99, plus €4.99 per optional re-scan | Full report; the score itself was free |
A subscription is not wrong. If you scan every few weeks to track a routine, paying monthly for 20 scans is cheaper per scan than paying €4.99 each time, which is what PRO is for. The question a weekly price should raise is what you get in week one before the charge: on Umax's listing, the result is behind it; on BecomeTen, the score is not.
Does a higher price mean a better rating?
No, and nothing on any listing suggests it. Price tells you the business model, not the rubric. The things that make a rating worth having are cheap to state and most products do not state them: the scale, the anchor, the photo grading, and the sources behind the advice. A free tool can have all four and a subscription app none. What perception research supports is also not expensive knowledge; it is in the literature.
What to check in any face rater's privacy policy
- The photo sentence. Find the line that names photos, face data or images. If there is no such line, as in two policies we read, assume nothing about deletion. A reassurance on the tool page is not the policy.
- The retention period. Among the products here it runs from deleted immediately, through within 2 hours, 30 days and 12 months, to up to one year. A number is better than an adjective.
- The training statement. Some products state that photos are never used to train a model; others say nothing. Silence is not a no.
- The licence clause in the terms. One set of terms we read grants the service a perpetual, worldwide licence to modify and distribute anything you upload. That clause applies to your face.
- The operator. A legal name and a country tell you which law applies and who to write to. Two products we read state neither.
- The age line. Check that the product is for adults and that its own pages agree with each other; one tool page said 16 while its policy said 18.
BecomeTen's answers to the six: the free-scan photo is deleted right after scoring and only the text analysis is kept; a paid scan is stored encrypted in the EU until you delete it or your account; no photo is used for training; there is no licence to your upload beyond processing it; the seller is Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia; and the service is 18+. The privacy policy says so in plain words.
Who should pick what
- A number for curiosity and nothing else: a free browser rater, after reading its photo line. BecomeTen's free score does the same with a stated anchor.
- One honest breakdown and a plan you can check: a one-time report. BecomeTen's is €6.99; The Face Report lists $17.49.
- A routine tracked over months with matched photos: a subscription with a scan allowance, which is what BecomeTen PRO is, or a store app if a native app matters more than seeing the score first.
For the per-app facts behind the categories, see the best AI face rating apps roundup, and for alternatives to a specific subscription app, Umax alternatives. How tracking works when you do pay for repeated scans is on how to track progress.
Questions
Is a paid face rating more accurate than a free one?
There is no evidence that price and accuracy are related, and accuracy has no ground truth for attractiveness anyway. What a payment usually buys is a breakdown and advice, not a better number. Judge any rater, free or paid, on whether it states its scale and anchor, grades the photo, and shows the sources behind its advice.
How much does a weekly face rating subscription cost per year?
Multiply the listed weekly price by 52. Umax's lowest listed tier on the US App Store is $3.99 a week, which is $207.48 over a year if never cancelled; LooksMax AI's weekly purchase is also listed at $3.99. Those are arithmetic on listed prices, not claims about what people pay, and prices vary by country and change.
What is the cheapest way to get a full face rating report?
Among the products we read, BecomeTen's full report at €6.99 once is the lowest listed price for a complete report with a plan, and the score before it is free. The Face Report lists $17.49 once. Free raters give a number; PFPMaker unlocks its report with an email rather than a payment. Subscription apps do not list a one-time report.
Should I read the privacy policy before uploading a selfie to a face rater?
Yes, before, not after. Find the sentence about photos, the retention period, the training statement, the licence clause in the terms, the operator's name and country, and the age line. Two policies we read for this page do not mention photos at all, and one set of terms grants a perpetual licence to uploads. Ten minutes of reading is the cheapest protection you have.