Skip to content
BecomeTenRate my face

Compare · Umax

Umax alternatives: free and one-time face raters, checked against their own pages

People look for a Umax alternative because its listing puts results behind a weekly subscription and its policy keeps face scans for up to a year. The alternatives here range from free browser calculators to one-time reports. BecomeTen shows a calibrated score free and charges €6.99 once; the others are quoted from their own pages.

6 min readBy
A phone showing a paid face-rating report next to a printed receipt on a dark surface
Facts checked against each app's public pages on 2026-09-07. Prices and policies change; the date is the claim.
 BecomeTenLooksMax AIPrettyScaleFaceRate.aiThe Face Report
PlatformBrowser, phone or desktop. No store app yet; stores planned.iOS and Android.Browser; upload or webcam.Browser, with a sign-in.Browser; free scan runs on-device per their site.
Price modelFree score. Report €6.99 once, re-scan €4.99, or PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year.Free download with in-app purchases: weekly $3.99, Pro $3.99, packs from $0.99 on the US App Store.Free. No paid tier listed.Subscription plans per the terms, auto-renewing, no refund of fees paid. Prices not stated on their site.Free basic tools. Full report $17.49 once per their pricing page, with a full refund within 7 days.
What you get freeScore out of 100, tier and share card, one scan per device per day, no sign-up.Download and photo upload. What is shown before a purchase is not stated on their site.The whole test.Not stated on their site; a trial button is shown.A measurement scan and nine free tools, no account, per their pricing page.
Score scale0–100, eight named tiers, PSL equivalent. Average, healthy, groomed lands around 50–60.Not stated on their site.A percentage in micro Helen units per their help page.Each feature and the whole face out of 10.0–100 face score per their home page.
Shows citationsYes; evidence level on every plan step, PubMed-verified library only.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site; called science-based, no study named.Home page refers to peer-reviewed sources in its guides; per-step citations not stated on their site.
Photo retentionFree scan deleted after scoring; paid scan encrypted in the EU until you delete it; never used for training.Face data retained 30 days then deleted, per policy.Not saved or stored, per home page and policy.Not stated on their site; policy mentions only email. Terms grant a perpetual licence to uploads.Free-tool photo deleted within 2 hours; paid report keeps a downscaled copy up to 12 months; not used for training, per policy.
Age policy18+.13+ on the App Store; no age in policy or terms.Not stated on their site.18+ to register, per terms.18+ for AI features, per terms and policy.

Why do people look for a Umax alternative?

Three facts from Umax's own pages explain most of the searches. First, the model: its App Store listing states that analysis results require a subscription and that additional scans require an additional purchase, with weekly premium tiers from $3.99 on the US App Store and terms describing a 3-day free trial that then charges the chosen plan. Second, the paywall sits before the result, so you do not see a number before paying. Third, its privacy policy states that face scans are kept for up to one year unless the law requires otherwise.

None of that makes Umax a bad product; it is a native app with a quick verdict, rated 18+, and the listing is candid about all three points. But if any of the three is a dealbreaker, the question becomes what else exists. The candidates below are the ones we could verify against their own pages on the date shown. The single-app comparison is BecomeTen vs Umax.

BecomeTen

A browser rater, 18+, English only, from Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia. One photo gives a score out of 100, one of eight tiers and a share card free, one scan per device per day, no sign-up. The report is €6.99 once: 30+ traits across harmony, eye area, jaw and chin, skin and hair as directional bands, potential capped per area at harmony +6, eye area +10, jaw and chin +14, skin +25, hair +20, weak points tagged workable or structural, and a plan whose every step carries an evidence level and cites only a PubMed-verified library. Re-scan €4.99; PRO €9.99 a month or €59.99 a year for 20 scans per rolling 30 days with progress tracking. Free-scan photos are deleted after scoring; paid ones are stored encrypted in the EU until you delete them. The rubric is on the methodology page.

Rate my face

Score, tier and share card free. No install, no account.

Rate my face

LooksMax AI

The closest like-for-like: a native iOS and Android app from Mnkybrain Labs, rated 13+ on the App Store, free to download with in-app purchases. The US App Store lists a weekly purchase at $3.99, a Pro purchase at $3.99 and consumable packs from $0.99. Its privacy policy states face data is retained for 30 days and then automatically deleted, and is not shared or sold unless required by law. Score scale, citations and what appears before a purchase are not stated on their site. If the retention window was your reason for leaving Umax, 30 days against one year is the concrete difference; the paywall model is similar. See BecomeTen vs LooksMax AI and Umax vs LooksMax AI.

PrettyScale

A free browser calculator with no account. Its help page says the result comes from face shape, the distance between eyes and lips, mouth size and symmetry, with the golden ratio sometimes used, and that results change with how you place the lines and dots. The score is a percentage in what it calls micro Helen units. Its home page says photos are not saved or shared and asks people with low self-esteem not to start. No age, no operator name and no studies are stated. It is the opposite of Umax: free, instant, no plan, no calibration. See PrettyScale vs BecomeTen.

FaceRate.ai

A browser tool with a sign-in that rates each feature and the whole face out of 10, uses the golden ratio for symmetry, and also generates an artistic portrait from a photo or a written description. Its terms say subscription plans exist, auto-renew and are non-refundable once paid, and that registering confirms you are 18; no price is on the site and the pricing address returned no page when we checked. Its privacy policy mentions only email and says nothing about photos, while the terms grant a perpetual licence to uploaded content. If you left Umax over retention, this is not obviously an improvement, because the policy is silent. See FaceRate.ai vs BecomeTen.

The Face Report

A browser product from Known by One, LLC in Delaware, and the closest to BecomeTen's model. Its pricing page lists a free measurement scan that runs on-device with nine free tools and no account, and a full report at $17.49 once with a full refund within 7 days. The score is 0–100, built from landmarks across seven facial regions including symmetry and golden ratio alignment. Its policy states free-tool photos are deleted within 2 hours, a paid report keeps a downscaled copy for no longer than 12 months, and photos are not used for training. It is 18+ for AI features. Its home page refers to peer-reviewed sources in its guides; whether each recommendation carries a citation is not stated on their site.

Who should pick what

  • You want a native phone app and a short retention window: LooksMax AI, on the terms in its listing.
  • You want a free number, no account and no advice: PrettyScale, treating the percentage as a curiosity.
  • You want feature scores out of 10 and portrait extras and are fine with an account: FaceRate.ai, once you have found its price inside the product.
  • You want a one-time report in dollars with a stated refund window: The Face Report.
  • You want a calibrated score free, a €6.99 one-time report with evidence levels and capped potential, and an EU photo policy: BecomeTen.

Whichever you choose, the three questions that sent you away from Umax are the ones to ask again: what do I see before paying, how long is my face kept, and can I check the advice. The free vs paid face raters page walks through the money side, and AI face rating explains what a score can honestly measure.

Questions

Which Umax alternative is completely free?

PrettyScale is free with no paid tier listed. BecomeTen's score, tier and share card are free without an account, one scan per device per day, and only the full report or PRO costs money. The Face Report lists free on-device tools before its paid report. LooksMax AI is free to download with in-app purchases; what appears before a purchase is not stated on their site.

Is there a Umax alternative with a one-time payment instead of a subscription?

Yes. BecomeTen charges €6.99 once for the full report and €4.99 for a re-scan, with PRO as an optional monthly or yearly plan. The Face Report lists a full report at $17.49 once with a refund window. FaceRate.ai's terms describe subscriptions; LooksMax AI's listing shows a weekly purchase alongside packs.

Which face rating apps delete your photo fastest?

By their own statements: BecomeTen deletes a free-scan photo right after scoring, PrettyScale says photos are not saved, The Face Report deletes free-tool photos within 2 hours, and LooksMax AI deletes face data after 30 days. Umax's policy says up to one year. FaceRate.ai's policy does not mention photos, so it is not stated on their site.

Do any Umax alternatives show the studies behind their advice?

BecomeTen labels every plan step with an evidence level and cites only from a PubMed-verified library linked from the report. The Face Report refers to peer-reviewed sources in its guides but does not state per-step citations. LooksMax AI, PrettyScale and FaceRate.ai do not state citations on their sites. Not stated does not mean absent; it means you should ask before paying.