Skip to content
BecomeTenRate my face

Compare · Face rating apps

The best AI face rating apps and sites, checked on five criteria rather than ranked

There is no best AI face rating app, because no app's score can be checked against another's. What can be checked is what each states about itself: what is free, whether the calibration is stated, whether advice cites studies, how long the photo is kept, and the age policy. This page lists those facts for six raters, without ranking them.

8 min readBy
A dark reading desk with an open notebook and a phone, the setting for checking app claims
Facts checked against each app's public pages on 2026-09-07. Prices and policies change; the date is the claim.
 BecomeTenUmaxLooksMax AIPrettyScaleFaceRate.aiThe Face Report
PlatformBrowser; no store app yet.iOS and Android.iOS and Android.Browser.Browser, with sign-in.Browser; free scan on-device.
What is freeScore, tier, share card; one scan per device per day; no sign-up.Download and scan; results require a subscription per the listing.Download and upload; what is shown before purchase not stated on their site.Everything; no paid tier listed.Not stated on their site; a trial button is shown.Measurement scan and nine tools, no account, per their pricing page.
Paid price as listed€6.99 report once; €4.99 re-scan; PRO €9.99/month or €59.99/year.From $3.99/week on the US App Store; 3-day trial per terms.Weekly $3.99, Pro $3.99, packs from $0.99 on the US App Store.None listed.Subscriptions per the terms; prices not stated on their site.$17.49 once; full refund within 7 days.
Calibration statedYes: 0–100, average, healthy, groomed adult around 50–60, above 80 for striking structure.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site.Scale stated (a percentage in micro Helen units); no anchor for average.Scale stated (out of 10); no anchor for average.Scale stated (0–100); anchor for average not stated on their site.
Evidence shownEvidence level on every plan step; PubMed-verified library only.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site.Not stated on their site; called science-based, no study named.Refers to peer-reviewed sources in its guides; per-step citations not stated.
Photo policyFree scan deleted after scoring; paid scan encrypted in the EU until deleted; never used for training.Face scans kept up to one year, per policy.Face data deleted after 30 days, per policy.Not saved or stored, per home page and policy.Not stated on their site; policy mentions only email; terms grant a perpetual licence to uploads.Free-tool photo deleted within 2 hours; paid copy kept up to 12 months; not used for training.
Age policy18+.18+.13+ on the App Store; none in policy.Not stated on their site.18+ to register.18+ for AI features.

How this list was made, and why it is not a ranking

Most best-of lists for face raters are written by installing each app, uploading the writer's face and comparing the numbers. That method cannot work. Each app scores against its own rubric and its own idea of average, and most do not publish either, so a 7 on one and a 64 on another are not the same face measured twice; they are two questions with two answers. We did something duller: on 2026-09-07 we read each product's store listing, website, pricing page and privacy policy, and recorded what it states about itself on five criteria.

  1. What is free: what you see before any payment, and whether an account is required.
  2. Calibration stated: whether the product says what its scale is and where an ordinary face lands on it.
  3. Evidence shown: whether advice carries a citation you can check.
  4. Photo policy: how long an uploaded face is kept and whether it is used for training.
  5. Age policy: what the product says about minimum age.

Two more browser tools were read and are described below but not tabulated, because their own pages left too many of the five criteria unstated to fill a column honestly. Nothing on this page is a user count, a star rating or a revenue figure; none of those is verifiable and none tells you whether a rating is honest.

The six raters, one by one

BecomeTen is a browser rater from Appinara s. r. o. in Slovakia, 18+, English only, no store app yet. Score, tier and share card are free with no sign-up; the report is €6.99 once, with 30+ trait bands, potential capped per area, and a plan whose every step carries an evidence level and cites only a PubMed-verified library. Free-scan photos are deleted after scoring; paid ones are stored encrypted in the EU until deleted. The rubric is on the methodology page.

Umax** is a native iOS and Android app rated 18+. Its listing states that results require a subscription, from $3.99 a week on the US App Store with a 3-day trial per its terms, and its policy keeps face scans up to one year. Scale and citations are not stated on their site. LooksMax AI** is a native app rated 13+, free with in-app purchases including a weekly $3.99 purchase, and its policy deletes face data after 30 days; scale, citations and what is free before purchase are not stated on their site. Both are on Umax vs LooksMax AI.

PrettyScale** is a free browser calculator: a percentage from face shape, feature distances and symmetry on hand-placed points, sometimes using the golden ratio, photos not saved, no age or operator stated. FaceRate.ai is a browser tool with a sign-in that rates features out of 10, uses the golden ratio, and sells auto-renewing subscriptions whose prices are not on its site; its privacy policy does not mention photos and its terms grant a perpetual licence to uploads. **The Face Report lists free on-device tools and a $17.49 one-time report with a 7-day refund, a 0–100 score, free photos deleted within 2 hours and paid copies kept up to 12 months, 18+ for AI features.

Two more browser tools, read but not tabulated

The PFPMaker attractiveness test gives a free 1–10 with a PSL equivalent and no sign-up, unlocks a detailed report with an email, and cites a 1990 Psychological Science paper on averageness on its tool page. Its tool page says photos are processed transiently and never stored; its privacy policy says guest images are not kept beyond the session but account images are kept until account deletion. The tool page states a minimum age of 16 and the privacy policy states 18. Where two of a product's own pages disagree, we report both rather than pick one.

Overchat's rate-my-face tool gives a free 1–10 on the web and in its iOS and Android apps, names three face-perception papers on the tool page, and states the photo is deleted automatically after processing. Its privacy policy, though, does not mention images at all, and says only that data is not knowingly collected from children under 16. Its pricing page lists a free plan and a Pro plan at $14.99 a month or $59.99 a year, but that is a general AI chat subscription; whether the face rating needs it is not stated on the tool page.

What the criteria tell you

Read down the calibration row first. Only one product on the table states where an ordinary face lands on its scale. That is not a mark of quality in itself, but it is the only thing that makes a number interpretable: without an anchor, a 6 out of 10 could be flattery or severity and you cannot tell which. Then read the evidence row. Advice without a source is not necessarily wrong, but you cannot check it, and the categories where face-rating apps give advice, skin, hair and grooming, are ones where trials exist for some steps and not for others.

Rate my face

Score, tier and share card free. No install, no account.

Rate my face

How to test any face rater in five minutes

  1. Read the privacy policy first, before uploading anything. Find the sentence about photos. If there is no such sentence, assume nothing about deletion. Then find the licence clause in the terms.
  2. Upload the same photo twice, a few minutes apart. A rater that returns a visibly different number for an identical file is reporting noise as signal. BecomeTen shows a difference within two points as noise on purpose.
  3. Upload a flattering photo and an honest one: the same face, one lit from the front at arm's length with a neutral expression, one from a low angle under a ceiling light. The gap between the two numbers is the size of the photo effect on that rater. The bigger it is, the less any single number means.
  4. Look for the anchor. Does the product say what an average face scores? If not, the number has no fixed meaning and cannot be compared with anything, including itself next month.
  5. Ask each piece of advice for its source. If the app cannot show one, treat the step as opinion. If it promises to move bone without surgery, close it.

Who should pick what

  • A native phone app and you are 18 or over: Umax, on its listed subscription terms.
  • A native phone app with small purchases and a short retention window: LooksMax AI.
  • A free number, no account, no advice: PrettyScale, treating the percentage as a curiosity.
  • Feature scores out of 10 with portrait extras, and you are fine with an account and an auto-renewing plan: FaceRate.ai, once you have found the price inside the product.
  • A one-time report in dollars with a stated refund window: The Face Report.
  • A calibrated score free, a €6.99 one-time report with evidence levels and capped potential, and an EU photo policy: BecomeTen.

For the money question on its own, see free vs paid face raters. For alternatives to a specific app, see Umax alternatives and LooksMax AI alternatives. For what a rating can honestly measure from one photo, see AI face rating, and for the whole category, the looksmaxxing apps compared hub.

Questions

What is the most accurate AI face rating app?

None can be shown to be. Accuracy needs a ground truth, and attractiveness has none; each app scores against its own rubric, and most do not publish it. What you can check is consistency on an identical photo, sensitivity to lighting and angle, and whether the scale has a stated anchor. Only one of the six products on this page states where an average face lands.

Which AI face rating apps are free without sign-up?

By their own pages: BecomeTen's score, tier and share card, one scan per device per day; PrettyScale's whole test; The Face Report's on-device measurement scan and free tools; PFPMaker's overall score; and Overchat's rating. Umax's listing says results require a subscription; LooksMax AI and FaceRate.ai do not state what is free before a purchase.

Are AI face rating apps safe to upload a photo to?

That depends entirely on the policy, which is why it is the first thing to read. Among the products here, stated retention runs from deleted immediately or within hours, through 30 days, to one year, and two policies do not mention photos at all. Check for a named retention period, a statement on training, and the licence clause in the terms before you upload.

Why does this best-of page not rank the apps?

Because BecomeTen makes one of them, and because a ranking would need us to score the same face on each app and compare numbers that live on different scales. Neither is honest. Instead we list what each product states about itself on five criteria, date the check, and leave the choice to you, with a five-minute test you can run on any rater yourself.

Do face rating apps use your photo to train their AI?

Some state that they do not: BecomeTen, The Face Report and PFPMaker say so on their pages. Umax and LooksMax AI state retention periods but we found no training statement to quote. FaceRate.ai's policy does not mention photos, though its terms grant a perpetual licence to uploads. If the policy is silent, the honest reading is that you do not know.

Sources

  1. 1.Facial attractiveness: evolutionary based research — Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B (2011)(Opens in a new window)
  2. 2.Sunscreen and prevention of skin aging: a randomized trial — Annals of Internal Medicine (2013)(Opens in a new window)